Sep 06, 2013 09:47 AM EDT

Angelina Jolie To Receive Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award: Actress Is The Youngest Honoree To Receive The Oscar Award Ever! [VIDEO & REPORT]

Angelina Jolie is to receive a Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award, the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS) confirmed Thursday.

Although the Oscar Race among active Hollywood celebrities begins in fall, the Academy Awards has already named four winners including Angelina Jolie and Steve Martin, Yahoo! reported Friday.

According to the report, AMPAS has announced the winners of the annual Governors Awards, distinctions that are only given for a lifetime achievement in the cinematic arts. Actors Steve Martin and Angela Lansbury as well as costume designer Piero Tosi are to receive lifetime achievement honors while Angelina Jolie is to be presented with the prestigious Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award, which is said to be given only "to an individual in the motion picture industry whose humanitarian efforts have brought credit to the industry."

In the AMPAS press release, Angelina Jolie was cited as "an impassioned advocate for humanitarian causes, traveling widely to promote organizations and social justice efforts such as the Prevent Sexual Violence Initiative."

The actress was also praised for her work with the Council on Foreign Relations and the Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees along with her pure efforts to promote humanitarian causes in her movies 'A Mighty Heart' and 'In The Land of Blood and Honey,' which she directed.

Jolie, who won the Oscar for best supporting actress in 2002 for her role in 'Girl, Interrupted,' is said to be the youngest star to receive the distinction at 38. The previous record holder is George Seaton, a screenwriter, director, and producer, who was only 51 when he received the award in 1962.

Other recipients of the award include: Oprah Winfrey, Sherry Lansing, Jeffrey Katzenberg, Quincy Jones, Elizabeth Taylor, Arthur Miller, and Quincy Jones.

Meanwhile, 68-year-old funnyman Martin, has been nominated for five Golden Globe awards (although he hasn't won any), and he also received an Emmy award in 1969 due to his writing contribution to 'The Smothers Brother Comedy Hour.' This will be the first time that the Academy has recognized the comedian. His career as actor, comedian, and musician include: 'The Jerk' (1979), 'Dead Men Don't Wear Plain' (1982), 'The Amigos' (1986), 'Roxanne' (1987), and two 'Pink Panther' films in 2006 and 2009.

Lansbury is recognized for her long and distinguished career as film actress ever since her big screen debut in 1944's 'Gaslight.' Her credits include 'The Manchurian Candidate' (1962), 'Bearknobs and Broomsticks' (1971), 'Death on the Nile' (1978), and her most recent 2011's 'Mr. Popper's Penguins.'

Angela Lansbury has received the British Academy of Film and Television Arts' Lifetime Achievement Award in 2003, and she has been nominated for an Emmy for 18 times but has never brought home the gold.

On the other hand, Piero Tosi is recognized for his devotion to the Italian cinema as costume designer. He has worked for Luchino Visconti's classics including: 'The Leopard,' 'The Damned,' ''The Innocent, and 'Death in Venice' Tosi is also a five-time Oscar nominee.

All four awards will be presented at the Academy's 5th Annual Governors Awards on November 16, Sunday.

Get the Most Popular Jobs&Hire Stories in a Weekly Newsletter
© 2017 Jobs & Hire All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.

Join the Conversation

Real Time Analytics